Pets

This is my ever-present (and persistent) writing assistant, Henry. He struck this pose just this morning, and I was compelled to write about him.

IMG_20160612_082652
What? I’m helping you….

Henry is a rescue, found a little over two years ago, half-starved in a machine at the plant where I work. Anyone who knows me knows that I’m a sucker for cats. The phone at my desk rang at 6 a.m.- the guys on the production floor couldn’t get near him and asked if I’d come get him.

He was covered in grease and fleas. I carried him to my office, where he immediately made himself at home on my desk or in my lap, whichever was available. The then-President of my company was an animal lover, so I called him and he brought cat food and a small litterbox so that I could keep him with me that day.

IMG_20140917_082420
Day One – I’ve been rescued!

I pretty much accosted everyone who entered my office that day. Didn’t they want to take this sweet baby home? I sent emails, text messages, put up pictures on bulletin boards. There were no takers, so he went home with me that night, much to my fiance’s chagrin because we already had two cats (one being a bottle-fed foster).

Over the next three months, I continued to try to find Henry a home to no avail. By then, though, we had all already fallen in love with the goofball, including our oldest cat, Charlie. Needless to say, we kept him. He’s been a member of our family for two years now.

Charlie is an excellent big brother. Talk about unconditional love. He grooms, loves, protects, and helps raise the foster babies we (aka me) bring home. He’s awesome. Camera-shy, but awesome.

IMG_20151003_140416
I have found the best hiding spot EVAH!

A trip to the vet told us that Henry was part Maine Coon, and that he was going to be a whopper of a cat. They weren’t lying.

IMG_20160427_172900
Treat time! Charlie (the small one) is five years old. Henry (the big one) is almost three years old.

I’m sure you’re wondering why I’m writing this. I just couldn’t help but share a little joy this morning, after a few too-hard head-butts from Henry as he sat on my desk. He likes to aim for the nose, make a person see stars. Truly.

Animals can be a perfect representation of unconditional love. I know that my two boys remind me every day that love can bring a smile even on the worst of days.

We could learn so much from them.

We all need to be rescued from something. We all struggle with something. Some struggles are bigger than others, but we all have them.

Be kind to others. Be a reflection of God’s unconditional love. Make an effort to put a smile on someone’s face today. Let someone know that they’re loved. Even the smallest act of kindness can have a huge and lasting impact on someone’s life.

My cats are great teachers. I get to begin every day with a smile.

 

One thought on “Pets

Leave a Reply

