I wrote a boring character….UGH.

Have you ever been 20,000 words into a story when you realize that you don’t find your main character interesting anymore? Writing for this character has become boring, filled with blah blah blah and yadda yadda yadda.

This is where I find myself.

My main character’s best friend, however, is awesome. I know her, right down to the noise her shoes make when she walks. And, she makes me laugh.

I like laughing.

I like the secondary character more than I do the primary character.

How’d I do that? How did I create a “best friend” that outshines my protagonist?

Her purpose was to bring levity to an otherwise not-so-funny situation. I enjoy writing for this character – her scenes and dialogue flow with ease because I know precisely how she’s going to react or respond. I can literally hear her voice in my head and I can’t get her words to paper (or screen) fast enough.

On the flip side, it takes real work to write for my protagonist. She has become cumbersome, an anchor that’s pulling me down, down, down.

This struggle is showing in my writing, and I have to do something about it. And, I think I know what the problem is……

My protagonist has zero attitude. She’s too polite – meek, even. She has no quirks, nothing that makes her stand out in any way, nothing that I can play on while writing for her. She’s bland. There is nothing that makes her interesting.

Because I didn’t give her anything that makes her interesting. All I did was give her a problem and a supporting cast to get her through it.

I failed her.

So, I’m returning to some very basic NaNoWriMo tips in order to meet her. For the first time. Again.

Sounds like a lot of work, right? I mean, I’ve done a lot of writing and this means that I’ll have to back up and kind of start over.

I’m okay with that. I look forward to it, actually.

I look forward to it because I know my writing will be better, and her story will be a better one. Plus, I’m learning from it and that’s never a bad thing.

That’s the cool thing about writing – we never stop learning. We will never know it all.

And here’s the bonus: do-overs are as limitless as the stars. We can start over as many times as it takes to get it right. And we just know when we’re there.

That’s such a good feeling. I’m gonna go find it.

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “I wrote a boring character….UGH.

  1. I actually can relate. The main character of my first book was completely outshone by her colorful friends. It took a lot of work to fix and make her active instead of passive. The good news is that this only happens once to a writer (if we recognize the problem). Good luck with the rewrites!

    Like

Leave a Reply

