Living Inspired…it really is the little things!

Recently, I decided to begin living an inspired life. Now, this may sound like a corny or even simple-minded task, but it’s actually a lot harder than it sounds.

You see, “life” tends to get in the way of “inspired living”. At least mine does, anyway. I’m still trying, though!

I began by trying to surround myself with things that inspire me, be it color or texture, or quotes, or really anything that moves me in some way. I even went so far as to buy a new coffee mug that was funky and made me smile. I love that coffee mug.

Mornings come very early for me, 4 a.m. five days per week. So, my morning ritual is also very important because it sets the mood for the balance of my day (and they are long ones!). Me and my funky coffee mug share about 30 minutes of silence in a dark and silent living room. I don’t “do” anything; I just sip my coffee, curled into the corner of my sofa, and let the peace and quiet of a dawning day work its magic. This time, this little 30-minute sliver, is truly MY time, and it is my favorite part of the day.

Sure, I could be doing something “productive” during this 30-minutes. I could definitely spend more time on my hair; my co-workers who have to look at the back of my head would probably appreciate it.

But I make a CHOICE to take that 30 minutes and center myself, instead. Besides, I know that my hair would go flat, anyway.

I have learned so much about myself during this process, and am sure I will continue to do so. For instance, I figured out that a 20-minute dash to straighten the house before bed-time works wonders on my psyche in the morning. There is no longer a push to get dishes in / out of the dishwasher; no picking up dirty laundry that my family has lovingly left strewn across the bathroom floor just for me (I write this with a smile because I know that mom’s will GET THIS).

I have, however, had to become a bit of a drill-sergeant with my teens. But the flip-side to that is that it is time for them to learn some real-world skills. I don’t enjoy the nagging, but I don’t feel guilty about it, either. That’s a skill my mother handed down to me; I was one of those teens, too.

I digress. My point is that by taking that 30 minutes in the morning (and being selfish with it) changes the way I walk into a hectic day. My perspective changes, my focus sharpens, and I am able to be truly THANKFUL for what has been given to me. I can come home after a 10-hour day and be present. I can do what needs to be done for my family, and then jump into homework (yep, I am a student, too).

And, at the end of the day, I still have a little time to curl up with a good book and wind down.

As I said earlier, life still happens and things invariably get thrown into the mix. I’m learning to deal with that; I suffer from New-to-Step-Mom’ing Syndrome but that is also a blessing in my life, I daresay the biggest.

I will also say that writing about it reinforces my appreciation for it all. It is hard, it is hectic, and some days simply do not go well. But, at the end of the day, I know I’ll have my 30-minutes with my funky coffee mug in the morning. And that inspires me.

Leave a Reply

